- Reset + Print

President Kaljulaid: a seat as a member of the United Nations Security Council is an opportunity to enhance the visibility of Estonia


At the invitation of President Kersti Kaljulaid, the advisory council responsible for contributing to the campaign for a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council convened today at Kadriorg. The opening event of the active stage of the campaign will take place in New York on Thursday.

"Estonia's goal to become a member of the United Nations Security Council is a bold step – it demonstrates that we are willing to take responsibility or at least a position regarding global issues, apart from the matters that have relevance for Estonia and our region. We shouldn't solely limit our foreign policy ambitions and contributions to matters concerning our closest neighbours. Becoming a member should be treated as an opportunity to increase Estonia's foreign policy footprint and gain more friends; a small country like Estonia can never have too many friends," said the patron of the campaign, President Kaljulaid, at the meeting of the advisory body.

Estonia decided to run for the position of a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council in 2020-2021 already in 2005. The Security Council is the most influential UN body.

The Head of State added that obtaining the status of a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council cannot be strictly a project pursued by a single ministry or department; instead, different stakeholders can and must contribute to the campaign. "The campaign will need contributors and spokespersons in both Estonia and worldwide in order to gain ground and become visible. The members of the advisory body can also contribute to the project in their own way," stated the Head of State.

At the invitation of the President of the Republic, the following members have joined the advisory committee: Hannes Hanso, Hannes Astok, Andres Herkel, Marina Kaljurand, Eerik Niiles Kross, Marko Mihkelson, Marianne Mikko, Lauri Mälksoo, Mart Nutt, Urmas Paet, Andres Tarand and Linnar Viik.

Office of the President
Public Relations Department